Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Australia & the Pacific (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/)
-   -   Pacific Raro-Aitutaki Resorts (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/pacific-raro-aitutaki-resorts-475837/)

lalinda Sep 22nd, 2004 08:04 AM

Pacific Raro-Aitutaki Resorts

My husband and I spent just over a week in the Cooks earlier this month. Stayed at the Pacific Resorts on both islands -- the two properties couldn't be more different, and we were delighted we'd opted to spend the most time on Aitutaki. The Pacific on Raro is clearly family-focused -- the place felt "crowded" even though it wasn't full and the food was mediocre. The Aitutaki property, though, is top drawer all the way! The bungalow (we stayed in #108) was roomy, beautifully-decorated and (best of all) situated and landscaped for true privacy. The food was fantastic. I'm a landscape designer, and I was most impressed at how the buildings, stone, grounds and water features meld together seamlessly -- it feels and looks part of the natural environment: in a word, exquisite!

simpsonc510 Sep 22nd, 2004 05:53 PM

Glad you enjoyed Pacific Aitutaki. I just spent a few days at the Raro Pacific and thought it was quite nice. The best thing was to just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet in the islands. Cook Islands are certainly cut out for just that very thing.

LordBalfor Sep 22nd, 2004 06:47 PM

Yes, although the Rarotonga Pacific Resort is usually considered to be the best resort on Raro, it's not really all that upscale compared to resorts in a lot of other locations (French Polynesia for example).