Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Australia & the Pacific (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/)
-   -   internet cafes (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/internet-cafes-499108/)

Snazzy Jan 27th, 2005 09:15 PM

internet cafes

Do the internet cafes provide software like PhotoShop that I could use to email photos?

Could I offload a digital camera there and be able to burn a CD with the photos?

Anyone recommend a camera store in Cairns and Christchurch to offload a digi, please?

Thanks.

JohnInMiami Jan 31st, 2005 01:50 PM

Snazzy,

In my humble opinion, Australia is probably a bit more technically advanced than we are here in the States. You'll be able to find clean, well equipped internet cafes pretty much anywhere. I am an IT consultant and never have difficulty communicating with clients or even working (gasp!) while on holiday in Australia.

When you get to Cairns, simply open the phone book and call a few places to see if they will allow you to upload photos. I don't know about Christchurch but I would bet you won't have any problems there either.

John in Miami

Snazzy Jan 31st, 2005 02:32 PM

Thanks, John.

inthechips2 Apr 23rd, 2005 06:02 AM

John, we are traveling to Australia for 3 weeks in November and will need to be connected to our business here in the States. Are contemplating signing up with a WiFi service - any recommendations that will work for us in Oz? or should we just plan on checking in at internet cafes?

pat_woolford Apr 23rd, 2005 04:03 PM

As John says there's many internet cafes in Cairns at very competitive prices and most accommodations have broadband internet facilities.

Can recommend Garrick's Camera House in Cairns Central Shopping Centre (MacLeod st entrance on ground floor) for offloading your digital.

AAFrequentFlyer Apr 23rd, 2005 04:31 PM