Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Australia & the Pacific (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/)
-   -   GREAT BARRIER REEF SNORKELLING - ABSOLUTE BEGINNER (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/great-barrier-reef-snorkelling-absolute-beginner-691768/)

sv Mar 28th, 2007 03:48 AM

GREAT BARRIER REEF SNORKELLING - ABSOLUTE BEGINNER

Are there snorkelling trips for absolute beginners at GBR? Also, is it possible to snorkel wearing Contact lenses?
My wife is a non swimmer - is there anything to do for non swimmers on such a trip.
Thanks for any insights

chimani Mar 28th, 2007 04:30 AM

Hi,

I don't believe there are any trips advertising themselves as for "complete beginners". You would need to ask the operator of the trip whether they offer any training.

Suspect though that those that do offer training and some personal attention will be the smaller boats - the no frills sort. For your wife you would need a bigger operator - one that goes to a permanent pontoon on the reef and offers glass bottom boat trips, etc.

I could be doing the big operators an injustice here. Suggest you check out previous postings for recommended trips (all of which are with big, slick operations) and contact them to ask if any training is provided for newbies.

If it helps at all - as long as you are comfortable in the water you can easily become a surface snorkelling whizz in no time - as long as on your first time someone takes the trouble to explain the basics.

The basics are just a few golden rules. I could go on - but best learned in situ.

Don't know about the contact lenses. You can get masks with sight correction on some boats I believe. But they define sight correction as being short sighted. No good for someone like me (you?) who is long sighted.