Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Australia & the Pacific (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/)
-   -   Australia in August (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/australia-in-august-13677/)

Karen Mar 29th, 1997 10:28 PM

Australia in August

My husband and I are planning a trip in August. We would be flying into Sydney, but want to go and spend some time at Perth, also. We want to meet the people of Austrialia and get to know the real thing. Are schools in session during the month of August? I work in the field of education.

Michael Mar 30th, 1997 09:22 PM

Yes - schools are in session in Sydney from 13 July to 27 Sept, and in Perth from 20 July to 27 Sept.

Jillian Apr 11th, 1997 10:48 PM

Went 2 years ago in July. They had just returned from holiday (vacation to me) and when I called schools they were more than happy to have me visit.I found it easy to make arrangements once I was there as long as I had some flexability about time. to fit in with their schedules. As a Special Education teacher I had some specific interests in inclusion and found an equal interest in what we are doing, also info and help at the university. I was in Canberra and Sydney.

Karen Apr 28th, 1997 08:34 PM

Can you name a place or two that you could recommend
for snorkling around the Great Barrier Reef. So many places are mentioned in the books that it is confusing. I would prefer not to be in large groups.
Also, where is the best Aquarium to visit in Australia?

Kerry Apr 29th, 1997 04:04 PM

The Sydney Aquarium at Darling Harbour is very good. It has underwater walkways to view the fish and sharks. Taronga Park Zoo is also a good place to visit. It is on Sydney Harbour and can easily be reached by ferry from the city centre and has great views of the Harbour. I hope you enjoy your visit.

Karen Apr 29th, 1997 05:34 PM

Kerry,