Advice needed! Leaving too soon for 2 weeks on the South Island New Zealand

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2019, 08:35 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've booked a last minute 2 week trip to the South Island of New Zealand and I'm scrambling to figure out my itinerary. I'd love suggestions on any tweaks to what I've laid out. It's my first time in New Zealand and I'll be traveling from California with my husband and our 8 month-old daughter so we are hoping to see lots but to slow our normal travel pace a bit. She's of extremely good temperament and tends to be flexible with her nap schedule (otherwise we wouldn't be doing this adventure). We are interested in seeing the gorgeous scenery, animals, food and wine. We thought about the campervan to avoid packing up each time we move but with the twisty roads I'm leaning towards a rental car and Airbnb or hotels. I'd also be grateful for any suggestions of which route and towns to stay in the Central Otago area if Cromwell isn't the best choice. Thank you!

Feb 11 day arrive SYD 8:55am
Feb 11 night Sydney
Feb 12 day Sydney
Feb 12 night Sydney
Feb 13 day Sydney
Feb 13 night Sydney
Feb 14 day Sydney
Feb 14 night Sydney
Feb 15 day fly SYD to ZQN 9:35am - 2:30 pm; Queenstown
Feb 15 night Queenstown
Feb 16 day Glenorchy
Feb 16 night Queenstown
Feb 17 day Drive to Te Anau; Glowworms 10:30am
Feb 17 night Te Anau
Feb 18 day Milford Sound hike and possible cruise
Feb 18 night Te Anau
Feb 19 day Doubtful Sound nature cruise 10:30am
Feb 19 night Te Anau
Feb 20 day drive to Cromwell; winery or two in Cromwell
Feb 20 night Cromwell
Feb 21 day Cromwell and Alexandra wineries and fruit
Feb 21 night Cromwell
Feb 22 day Drive to Oamaru; Wrinkly Rams; Ostler and Kurow wineries; Riverstone Kitchen 5pm; drive to Oamaru by 7:30? for penguins
Feb 22 night Oamaru
Feb 23 day Otago market Sat 23rd 8-12:30
Feb 23 night Dunedin
Feb 24 day Otago peninsula, Taiaroa head albatross
Feb 24 night Dunedin
Feb 25 day