Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   What to do with my two weeks? (arrival next Sunday) (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/what-to-do-with-my-two-weeks-arrival-next-sunday-1020141/)

mrnmrqsc Jul 15th, 2014 04:13 PM

What to do with my two weeks? (arrival next Sunday)

Here's the deal. I have 2weeks between my arrival in Bangkok and my departing to Myanmar. This will happen 20July.
I have a budget of about 100$ per day for both me and my boyfriend.

The thing is, I never went to Thailand. But for some reason, maybe because the rainy season, Thailand does not attract me at all. And it's hard for me to say "well I never went and I don't have much time, I will just stay put' because I've been saving a lot for this trip since I'm still studying.

I like the idea of going to Laos, but the flights are too expensive for our budget, and such an huge expense would reflect in our daily budget for the rest of the trip and we don't want to be too restrain, not as much in terms of accommodation but for activities.

My two options were: going to Laos doing a loop via chiang mai and nong khai
or going to siem reap + khao sok in Thailand.

I really would love to go to Laos because it's a country were I feel will change more with the next years than Thailand for example.

Is it insane with my time frame + rainy season to fit Laos? Just the Luang Prabang + Nong Khiaw + Muang Ngoi area but traveling overland with a night stop at Vang Vieng.

Prachuap Jul 15th, 2014 04:56 PM

It doesnt rain all day everyday. Most days are sunny 90% of the time. Showers tend to last an hour or 2. Some days no rain.

2 weeks is a short time for 2 countries.

Laos is basically a quieter version of Thailand with less to do.

You didnt list your interests.

Choosing place x over place y should depend on your interests.