Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

What is the best destination in Asia to travel in 2020

Oct 22nd, 2019, 04:05 AM
Original Poster

Hey guys I am planing to visit Asia next year with my wife. I need to know the best destinations of Asia to visit as I need to plan my tour before I visit. I have toured in many European countries and this is my first time in Asia. So I need to get all the knowledge as mus as possible to travel joyfully and safely. So please help me to make my tour safe and happy. Thank you
Oct 22nd, 2019, 05:00 AM

There is no best destination.

All we can do is help you choose what would be best for YOU, but you need to tell a lot more about yourselves.

When in next year? How much time will you have? How much money? What are you most interested in? Palm fringed beaches or snowcapped peaks? Or both?

What kind of trip are you looking for? Backpacking(budget travel via public transport)? Trekking in the Himalaya? Horse riding in Mongolia? A diving cruise around the islands of Indonesia? Cycling/motorbiking Vietnam?

If you don't know where to start, start here:

Backpacking: Budget Independent Travel - Advice, guide & packing help

https://en.wikivoyage.org/wiki/Asia

Last edited by BDKR; Oct 22nd, 2019 at 05:03 AM.
Oct 22nd, 2019, 05:07 AM

I see on your profile that you listed Thailand and Japan as favourite destinations, so you could start with those. Both are quite safe(in case of Japan very safe) destinations and work great as a first trip to Asia. You could even combine the 2 countries if you have at least a month. I you have less than a month I'd choose either Japan(best time spring and autumn) or Thailand(best time November-February) perhaps adding some time in Cambodia or Laos or Singapore or Malaysia etc.
Oct 22nd, 2019, 07:00 PM
kja

if you don't already have specific interests, you might want to go to your nearest bookstore or library to consult some good guidebooks.
Oct 23rd, 2019, 04:39 PM