Thailand - Tour or Independent

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 3rd, 2004, 11:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello. This is my first time writing. Thank you for all of your valuable information. My husband and are thinking about a trip to Thailand. We found a company through budget travel magazine for a trip to Thailand for 17 days, including flights, some meals, travel, trekking, etc. for $1,400.00 (details of trip at www.djoserusa.com). The trip begins and ends in Bangkok, and goes to the river Kwai, Ayutthaga, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai, etc.

Both my husband and I have traveled a lot, but have never been to Thailand. My question for you experienced travelers to Thailand, does this offer sound interesting, or would we be better off, planning this trip on our own, doing our own thing? Also has anyone ever heard of this company? are they reputable?

Thank you very much in advance to those of you who answer.
Old Mar 3rd, 2004, 12:46 PM

I looked at the website and here is my reaction:

The first thing I noticed is that 17 days shrinks to 12 days because they include the time in transit to and from the USA, and because after that long and exhausting flight the only thing you're going to want to do the first day is sleep.

Airfare from LAX is somewhere around $650, which leaves $750 with which to cover the 12 days' activities and accomodations and travel, or an average of $62.50/day. That's a whole lot of money in Thailand unless you're staying in a luxury hotel, which is not the case here. Domestic travel is by bus or train, which is also extremely cheap.