Search

Trip Report - Phuket and Bangkok

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29th, 2007, 05:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trip Report - Phuket and Bangkok

Hi all

This is my first time to do a trip report so bear with me if I jump all over the place!

Our trip was for our honeymoon ( Jan 2nd to 18th)

We flew with China Airways.I would not be at all complimentary about China Airways. We flew out on New Years Day - maybe they had celebrated a little too much but all the staff without exception were so rude. Not a smile to be seen. We chanced asking for an upgrade as we were honeymooners ( it was worth a shot!) ' No way' was the swift response and just to prove it they seated us in seperate seats 5 rows apart. When my husband asked if we could sit together for the 12 hour flight you'd think we asked could we sit on the pilots lap for 12 hours. Huffing and giving out etc. Lets just say our 36 hour delay on the way back confirmed their rudeness... but more about that later!!......

Arrived in Phuket ( stayed at the Kata Beach for the first 6 nights) We arrived at 1.00 in the day after travelling for 25 hours and had to wait another 2 hours before our room was ready. But it was peak season so we understood.
Porter took us to our room eventually with our bags etc. All we wanted was to head straight to sleep but... he would not leave the room without a tip. We told him we had just arrived and had not got much currency and we would see him later etc. he stood there and refused to move even when my husband asked him to leave. So we had to rummage through our luggage to find some bhat. Miraculously his understaning of English improved the minute he got the tip. I was very disappointed with this. I was so tired I didn't catch his name and so didn't complain to the manager but I did leave the comments on the room card on check out.