Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Travels in Kazakhstan (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/travels-in-kazakhstan-1670910/)

lynnstephenson1288 Aug 21st, 2019 11:53 AM

Travels in Kazakhstan

I arrived at Almaty airport at 05.45am having missed a night's sleep but caught up on a couple of films. Turkish Airlines are mediocre at best, not the friendliest and the cabin crew were conspicuous by their absence. I'd arranged an airport transfer and it went without a hitch. The staff at customs were very friendly, I had a laugh with the woman in passport control. She thought I was a teacher and was a little bemused when I told her I'd come for a holiday. I even made the stern man in uniform smile. The roads were wide and smooth, non potholes. Check in time at the hotel was 2pm but the lovely girl on reception let me check in 8 hours early, much appreciated. As I'd presumed that I wouldn't be able to check in until 2pm I'd arranged a city tour with a local guide. So after an hour's rest, I was showered, changed and ready to explore. I really wanted to see the enormous bazaar and try some of the local delicacies but it was closed on Mondays. I'd read that it was possible to go wine tasting. Apparently Kazakhstan make award winning wines and after sampling 8 of them I had to agree. It was a good way to spend a morning at at £5.50 in total a bit of a bargain. The high valleys are perfect for growing grapes. The mountains are covered in snow but the valleys are warm. On the snow capped mountains it can be -40 in winter. I was looking forward to some of the spectacular scenery, canyons, gorges and mountains. I was trying to get used to the local currency - 440 tenge equalled £1. My first impressions were of a very friendly city. I found it strange that I could walk around and not look like a tourist. In fact my local guide, a lovely, young Kazakh women said I did