Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Travel Time before I Study Abroad... (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/travel-time-before-i-study-abroad-735691/)

snchampi Sep 11th, 2007 08:30 AM

Travel Time before I Study Abroad...

I am studying abroad this spring in Melbourne, AU and would love to do some traveling before my program starts in early Feb. I will have long weekends to explore AU during the school year, but I want to see the surrounding islands if I can. So far I am fantacizing about Thailand, Bali or Fiji. What areas are driest in Thailand at this time of year--Ive heard its really wet in Bali as well. Is Fiji too expensive? I am on a budget and 21 years old, any suggestions on cheap tickets or good destinations? Thanks so much!

Kathie Sep 11th, 2007 08:36 AM

Both Thailand and Bali (as well as other parts of Indonesia) are relatively inexpensive. Fiji is more expensive. Only you can tell whether it's too expensive.

Take a look at www.weatherbase.com for weather info. Note that Thailand is infleunced by two different monsoons, so usually at least one area of Thailand is drier. Also, even in monsoon season, many places are still fine to visit, depending on what you want to do.

I've ben to Bali and Lombok during the rainy season and it didn't keep me from doing the things I wanted to do. So do your research, but don't let a little rain scare you away!

smartcookie Sep 11th, 2007 04:38 PM

how many weeks do you actually have? how far away are you willing to fly (in hours on the flight to get there one-way)? Bangkok is not THAT close to AU. It depends on what you consider "nearby". What about New Zealand? Otherwise, I would do Indonesia.

skittle Sep 11th, 2007 10:08 PM