Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Thailand Honeymoon in October - Too Rainy?? Would you do it?

Feb 17th, 2004, 04:24 PM
Original Poster

Hello.

This is my first time posting on this board, however, I have been reading all of your informative posts for a few weeks now.

I would love to go to Thailand for my honeymoon - it's our first choice. However, we would be going from Oct. 11th/12th through October 23rd or so, which I know to be a transitional month season-wise.

We would do the common Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket/Koh Samui route (in that order). I have read on this board that Koi Samui is a safer bet during the rainy season, but that when we might be there (Oct. 18-23rd) is actually when Koi Samui starts to experience its own rainy season.

I'm OK with it raining for a bit during the day as long it eventually clears up. However, knowing that it is our honeymoon and we plan to splurge and go luxury for most of the trip, would you go in October if it were your honeymoon???? I fear spending a lot of $$ for a beach resort (I'm most concerned about the beach aspect of the trip as it rains "less" in Chiang Mai at that time) just to have flooding and rain the whole time. That said, if you had to choose an island Koh Samui or Phuket for Oct. 18-23rd, which would you choose for better weather?

Thanks in advance for your help!!
Feb 17th, 2004, 05:06 PM