Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Thailand Custom Journey - Asia Transpacific or Geographic Expeditions (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/thailand-custom-journey-asia-transpacific-or-geographic-expeditions-983411/)

sknowlt Jun 29th, 2013 02:10 PM

Thailand Custom Journey - Asia Transpacific or Geographic Expeditions

I am just beginning to plan a trip to Thailand for 2014. My husband and I want to have our itinerary and hotels booked in advance. We are thinking Four Seasons Golden Triangle, Chang Mai, Phuket or Krabi and maybe Bangkok if we have time. We are looking at approximately two weeks in Thailand.

We are searching for a company to arrange a custom tour. I've read that both Geographic Expeditions and Asia Transpacific Journeys specialize in custom tours of Asia. Does anyone have any experience with either agency - either custom or group tours? Would you recommend one over the other?

Thanks.

Kathie Jun 29th, 2013 02:57 PM

Absolutely no need for a custom tour. Your booked your hotels and flights, now just go. If you want a guide somewhere, you can hire one on the spot or your hotel can arrange it. Mostly, you don't need a guide. I've never used one in my more than two dozen trips to Thailand. Going through a tour company will greatly increase your costs. And a group tour means forced shopping stops, waiting for others, and not getting to spend the time you want at places that interest you.

rhkkmk Jun 29th, 2013 07:39 PM

I embark on my 17th thai vacation in nov.. it is a breeze to plan a trip there..

start with a good guide book... lay out what interests you... come back here and ask detailed questions... give us rough budget data, likes and dislikes, etc..

Bangkok is very worthwhile and interesting... I am part of a group who do not care for chiang mai--its just boring..

virginiafish Jul 1st, 2013 02:02 PM