Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Thai Food (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/thai-food-567142/)

gilawi01 Oct 26th, 2005 01:30 PM

Thai Food

I've never tried the Thai Food before, so I'm curious of what makes the Thai Food been so highly praised by many Fodorites. My wife cannot eat with MSG. Does anyone knows if the food is prepared with this ingredient?

105 days for my trip to Thailand and counnting...

Thanks

rhkkmk Oct 26th, 2005 07:21 PM

i think some has msg, so just ask for it to be eliminated....ask your hotel to write this out for you in thai and have the waiter read it before you order....

most of the ingrediants are super fresh...some is very spicy...some of it is not dissimilar to chinese or other asia foods....

much of it is wok cooked...but they also broil, steam, deep fat fry and grill...

in bangkok you will have no problem finding any kind of cuisine you desire...

a good place for lunch is the loft on the 7th floor of the central chitlom dept. store....all kinds of food in one place...

you will love it..

MichaelBKK Oct 26th, 2005 07:48 PM

MSG is not a 'traditional' ingredient of Thai food, but many chefs may unintentially add it since it is a common flavor enhancer for stock powders and sauces, which are widely used. For that reason, you may not even be safe eating western fare. Thais are not yet as concious about this issue as westerners.

Your safest bet may be to stick to simple foods, such as noodles and fried rice. Curries and soups, which use chicken stock as a base, are probably the most dangerous. Stir-fries are not necessarily safe, since a commonly used garlic powder is mostly MSG.

TexasSlim Oct 26th, 2005 08:42 PM