Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Tattoo's in Thailand (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/tattoos-in-thailand-672715/)

ScubaSusie Jan 22nd, 2007 02:18 PM

Tattoo's in Thailand

I am going to Chiang Mai and Phi Phi in March and was wondering if it was safe to get my first tattoo in Thailand? Any one ever done this? I am from the US so my standards of "sterile proceedures" might be more than some (I am also a nurse). Any thoughts on this idea you guys?
Thanks,
Susie

travelduo Jan 22nd, 2007 03:56 PM

Finally, a topic I can really talk about!!! I am curious to see Bobs reaction about this. My very good childhood friend is now one of the top tattoo artists in the country now, and has done about 40 hours worth of work on my back, with about 40 more to go. I was kind of nervous about meeting up with Bob at the Marriott pool because of what he might say about my tattoo as I DO NOT look like someone that would have a tattoo at all!!!!
Anyway, about your question Susie, it is perfectly safe if you do these few steps. First is to watch other people at the shop getting tattooed and see how the artist is keeping his work clean. Second and most important is that the needles need to come out of a sterile package, and you need to watch the guy get them out of the package. They come in the packages like you are used to seeing in your nursing profession. As you are watching the other people getting work done, make sure that after their tattoo is done that the artists breaks the needles and throws them away. I have seen the people doing tattoos at like the weekend market and I wouldnt touch them with a ten foot pole!!!!
If you follow those steps you should be fine. I also hope that you have something in mind that you want and not just pick something off the wall!