Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Should we use our miles for a trip to Asia or Europe?

Apr 21st, 2006, 01:46 PM
Original Poster

I was hoping that I could use your expertise in terms of mileage usage. I've finally been able to accrue enough United miles for a trip but I can't seem to figure out the best way to maximize our points. Since most of you fodories are expert travelers, can you help me decide how to use the miles?

Here's my dilemna:

1) Use 60,000 mileage points for a free trip to Asia (we were thinking of going to Bangkok and Hong Kong-although I don't know how that works for multi-city travel)
2) Use 50,000 mileage points for Europe.

What do you suggest I do? Sorry, I'm new to this mileage redemption thing and I just want to make sure I'm maximizing my awards.

Thanks for your help!!
Apr 21st, 2006, 02:01 PM

I would probably use the miles for Asia. For me, since I live in NYC, flying to Europe is pretty inexpensive, unless going to a place like Greece, which can be costly and I've used miles for that in the past. But, if you merely want to know where the best value is, I would say Asia. (When you want to go can make a difference too, not only in price, but in the amount of miles needed.)
Apr 21st, 2006, 02:15 PM

I would use the miles to upgrade to business class to asia - you get a lot more bang for your buck than just getting a ticket.
Apr 21st, 2006, 02:26 PM

Craig, as you will recall, to upgrade to BKK on United is now almost $1800 a ticket. Even you thought it was too much and didn't want to pay it. Many of us cannot afford to spend that kind of money on one ticket, even for business class.
Apr 21st, 2006, 02:32 PM