Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Should I travel to Asia in 2009 considering how poor the U.S. Economy is?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 17th, 2009, 11:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello Guys
I haven't posted in this forum in almost a year, but I do have a question for some of you. I have been traveling to Asia practically every year since 2000. However, I had to cancel those plans in 2008 mainly because I had to buy a new car. So I decided to get the car and start saving for 2009. It's now 2009 and I really want to travel to Asia again mainly to visit HK, Singapore and Malaysia. I brought up the idea to my parents and my mother highly discourages me from traveling this year. She says I should hold off another year to focus on saving money. She says the economy sucks, people are losing jobs and the U.S. dollar is very weak. She says it would be financially irresponsible to spend a few thousand dollars on a trip this year. Sometimes I think my mother worries that if I take a long trip I would lose my job when I return, which I think is ludicrous. I have 8 weeks paid vacation to use. So, I feel if I can save the money, I should be entitled to use it without worrying about my job security. What do you all think of this dilemma?
Old Jan 17th, 2009, 11:57 AM

If I had 8 weeks of paid vacation to use, I'd be on the plane. I used to take 11- week overseas vacations, for more than a decade, but it was never on a paid status. I didn't get a cent of salary while on vacation.