Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   One Way Ticket to Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/one-way-ticket-to-asia-903097/)

pshawn Aug 17th, 2011 06:34 PM

One Way Ticket to Asia

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting to Fodors and I'm very excited to be a part of the community. I am a 35 year old entrepreneur and am just wrapping up a business and will have, for the first time in a long time, some time on my hands :) So I'm renting my home, putting my stuff in storage and buying a one way ticket to China, with plans to travel throughout Asia for 6 months, starting SEPT. 15th!

While part of the fun of having so much time is NOT planning to far in advance, I'm wondering if any of you world travelers out there could give me some advice in terms of ball park how long I should consider staying in each country and in what order I should go.

I'm flying into Beijing because it's in Northern China, so I figured I'd start north, and then make my way to southern cities/countries as we head into winter. Here's what I'm thinking... I'd love to get your feedback as to can't miss places in the countries below, and/or countries I may not list as well as the order I'm thinking going in. Here goes...

China/Tibet
India
Thailand (I've already been to Bangkok)
Laos
Indonesia

*Any other must-see places in SE Asia? Is Singapore or Philippines worth considering? Also, I've already toured Japan. I've been in Ho Chi Mihn and Siem Riep, but should I consider checking out other places in Vietnam and/or Cambodia?

Finally, I'd love the inside scoop on SCUBA diving. What are some favorite dive spots in Thailand and Bali? Also I've read good things about the Andamans off India. Any other must-dive spots?

Finally, if anyone is planning on being in any of these countries, perhaps we could meet up along the way :)

Thanks in advance everyone and happy traveling!