Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

newbie solo traveler! budget traveling Japan for a month

Old Apr 11th, 2015, 12:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So as the title says, I am a newbie solo traveler. I am a female in my early 20s and will be traveling around Japan for 4ish+ weeks. I want to hit so many places! My top places I am definitely visiting are Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, and Hiroshima. But in addition, Ive heard Nara, Yokohama, Kamakura, Kobe, Nagoya, Hakone, and Shizuoka are wondrous (although I am really not sure what they offer). I am obviously still trying to figure out the exact locations I am going to ^.^" So, I basically have no idea on how much the trip would total. I figured...

flight: ~$2000 round trip (flying into Tokyo from the western US and traveling back to Tokyo to fly out?)
in between travel: ~$800?? (japanese rail pass: ~$400, and then Im adding $400 to be on the safe side of other transportation)
lodging: ~$1800 (decently priced hostels/hotels...about $60 a night Im assuming)
food: ~$1200 (maybe $40/day? I do not drink and am not a heavy eater)
extra spending cash: ??

Does this seem about right? Im actually trying to see the price to travel europe for 3 weeks vs japan for a month (or a bit more). Which would be cheaper?

*if anyone can advise me on what cities shouldn't be missed too, that would be so great!

Thanks to all
Old Apr 11th, 2015, 01:25 PM

Do you have a guide book? That is a good place to start. And the best web guide is
www.japan-guide.com

Price out whether a rail pass save you money or if you are better off buying individual tickets. We bought individual tickets.

You should be able to fly to Japan from the Western US for considerably less than $2000. But you may be underestimating lodging costs. Check on open-jaw flights - into one city out of another to save time and travel costs.

You can find lots of inexpensive places to eat.