Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   KL, Melacca, Penang, Langkawi (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/kl-melacca-penang-langkawi-538757/)

marie_scotland Jun 22nd, 2005 01:39 PM

KL, Melacca, Penang, Langkawi

Hi guys,

I have been researching our trip for Sept 2005 until my eyes are falling out *laughs* have decided to dump several places following some posts eg Bali but think we are finally getting there...

what do you think of this?

We fly to KL arrive early afternoon 4/9 and fly back 18/9 at 2am (trying not to think of that one!)

KL - Mandarin Oriental 4th to 7th
Melacca - 7th lunchtime to 8th (how should we get there from KL?)
Penang - E&0 (Writers suite?) 8th to 10th then get the ferry to Langkawi(does the ferry also do Melacca to Penang?)
Langkawi - 10th to 15th - Datai/Andaman if we can get good deals - fly airasia to KL early afternoon
KL - Hilton 15th to 18th (only 2 nights really)

Am I hitting the mark or trying to squash too much in? If we were to drop one place would it be Melacca?

We are in our mid 30's so dont mind jumping around the place!

Thanks in advance

Marie

JannaG Jun 23rd, 2005 12:18 AM

Malacca/Melaka is south of KL while Penang is in the north. To travel from Melaka to Penang, you'd need to pass by KL again (fly from KL. Taking a coach from Melaka to Penang would take over 10 hours or so I think). One suggestion is for you to fly straight to Penang from KL and then proceed to Langkawi before flying back to KL and then taking a trip to Melaka. Since you were already in KL at the early part of the trip, you have the option to stay another night in Melaka if you liked that place, leaving your final night in KL for some last minute shopping.