Japan food shopping for cooks

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2019, 12:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll be in Japan, return after many years, for three weeks.

I am an avid home cook.

Interested in particular, interesting food-related or kitchen items to buy, to try on site or to bring home.

Any great snacks, kitchen items (do not cook Japanese food at home), anything related to food? I can bring home about anything but meats. (Please no dissertations on customs regulations..I am well aware)

I do not want to eat in my hotel room, but snacks are ok. More keen on items to cart home, and things to sample just for interest. I eat about anything. Really just want to explore new tastes.

I've got a number of restaurants booked, but if people want to offer tips on favorite places, that's great: I need soba and tonkatsu recommendations, especially. Ramen, to be sure.
Hotel is near Tokyo Station.

Is Harajuku still worth visiting on Sundays late afternoon? What do we have there? Akin to St Marks Place in NYC in the "old days??' Or what?????? It was much fun years ago..but now?? Very interested in gawking at cos play types!!

Also, any novels about Japan? Just read THE COMMONER and recommend highly. Read the book about the disappearance of Lucie Blackman, too..what a sad tale that was...

Random tips welcome! Many thanks.

Old Apr 6th, 2019, 12:04 PM

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post
Can't help you with your question, but I was wondering if you had scoped out any restaurants in Japan. We'll be there for the first time in the fall. I always loved your restaurant recs.
Old Apr 6th, 2019, 02:20 PM
tt7

Originally Posted by ekscrunchy
Interested in particular, interesting food-related or kitchen items to buy, to try on site or to bring home.