Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Itinerary for 3 days in Bangkok (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/itinerary-for-3-days-in-bangkok-639654/)

shelleyk Aug 16th, 2006 10:49 AM

Itinerary for 3 days in Bangkok

Hi everyone-
I've been reading the advice on this forum for several months and your enthusiasm for visiting Thailand is so contagious that I have just booked a trip for my husband and me with Smartours for the last week in January and the first week in February. The tour spends 14 days in Thailand and 3 days at Angkor Wat. I have never used this tour company before, but it covered the destinations I wanted to see, so we will hope for the best. My husband and I have travelled extensively, and usually do so on our own, but since this tour was exactly what I would have planned on my own for considerably less than I would have paid, we decided to take a chance on this tour company. We will be flying from Boston and staying at the Majestic Grand Hotel for the first 4 nights. We have 3 full days in Bangkok, some of which is scheduled with optional tours (a half day to the Grand Palace and a whole day to the floating market and Rose Garden}.
As a first time traveler to Thailand I would like to ask a couple of questions of you seasoned travelers who seem so willing to share your knowlege and experience. After doing some reading, I think that rather than spend the day outside of Bangkok l'd prefer to spend it seeing the Jim Thompson House, Vinimik Palace, Suan Packard Palace, and the National Museum. Is it possible to do this in a day or a day and a half (in light of the traffic and heat)? If it is how would you get from one to the other and in what order? Are any of these places air conditioned?