Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page > Im a young student visiting hongkong for 3 days

Im a young student visiting hongkong for 3 days

Nov 26th, 2010, 12:20 PM
Original Poster

Im a young student visiting hongkong for 3 days

Im 21, by myself and wanting to experience the real hong kong! Im heading to australia for a little while and on my way home i have a stopover in hongkong for 3 days. needing some advice on where to stay if i want to meet travellers/students and have a good time while im there. Keen to see tourist attractions through the day and then hit some good bars at night. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
Nov 26th, 2010, 07:06 PM

you might also post this on thorn tree and lonley planet sites
Nov 27th, 2010, 12:28 AM

Tsim Sha Tsui has some hostels and backpackers places, if that's what you're looking for. Also a central, convenient location for sightseeing and dining.
Some random thoughts on sightseeing includes taking the star ferry across the Victoria harbor, going up to the Peak at night to see why HK is called the pearl of the east, go to Ngong Ping 360 and see the Big Buddha in Lantau Island, Repulse Bay and Stanley (has some good bars too) are great places to visit, check out the shopping district in Causeway Bay or Mongkok.
There are lots of bars in both Tsim Sha Tsui and Central.
One easy way to experience/see the real HK is travel on a bus from one end of the town to another or take the tram which travels from one end of the HK island to another. You may find it interesting.
Nov 29th, 2010, 11:23 PM