How touristy is Rajasthan in November?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 8th, 2004, 06:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Having booked my flights I'm finally beginning to concentrate on my itinerary for a one month trip to India beginning Nov 24th.

I'm visiting friends in Delhi and we're planning to spend about a week with them and just over 3 weeks in Rajasthan.

So far we're planning on Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Udaipur, Jodpur, Shekawati and several heritage hotels along the way Rohetgarh and Deogarth...I'm planning on leaving Agra for another trip.

Anyway, I'm very much looking forward to the trip as this is my first time in India although my husband has spent 2 months travelling there in the past.

Here is the essence of my dilemma; we've just returned from a trip to Brazil and Argentina which I greatly enjoyed. However one of the places I was most excited about visiting turned out to be extremely touristy (Salvador, Bahia). I'm not saying that as a tourist I hate all other tourists or touristy places...we loved Rio which is full of tourists but there are some destinations where the entire focus seems to be on the tourist industry, especially when the tourists are all focused on one area of town as it was in Salvador.

Anyway my question is where should we avoid? Is this less of a problem in India? Because we have over three weeks in Rajasthan I don't want to be runnning from one destination to another...where would you spend any extra days?

I appreciate any suggestions
Old Sep 9th, 2004, 12:40 AM