Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Hong Kong Teas (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/hong-kong-teas-424051/)

Wulfstan Apr 19th, 2004 02:09 PM

Hong Kong Teas

Ok im a newbie to Hong Kong, wife and I are heading there en route to Bali, and staying at Hong Kong for 3 nights......need to know about teas. Would like to bring some back with us, any ideas on what types of teas and where to buy them? Help! Thanks in advance.

rkkwan Apr 19th, 2004 02:34 PM

I don't know of the newer and fancier tea stores, but one that's been around for a long time is Ying Kee. It has several stores in Hong Kong, but last time I check, the main store in at 151 Queen's Road Central in the Central district, just west of the bottom of the mid-levels escalators. Many locals buy there, and their prices should be reasonable.

As for which type of tea to get, that's a hard question, as there are dozens of types. If you're new to this, I'd suggest one of each of the three main category:

Green tea, not fermented - Lung Jeng (or Dragon Well) from Hangzhou, China

Black tea, fermented - Po Lei (or Bo Lei) from Yunnan, China.

Partially fermented - Oolong/Wulong or Ti Kwan Yin (Iron Goddess) from Fujian, China; or Taiwan.

Note that there are many different grades and varieties of each type, and some can be quite expensive. I don't think you'll need to buy the most expensive ones, but don't bring some cheap ones home either.

Kathie Apr 19th, 2004 02:49 PM

I'm also going to buy tea in Hong Kong. My guide book says there is a several block stretch referred to as "Tea Street" which I plan to check out this trip. I can't find my notes right now, but I'll post the location if I can find it in the next couple of days.