Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Help! I'm 17 and going to China for the first time.

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 30th, 2004, 09:52 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey fellow travellors!
This is my first time posting a message in a forum but I really like the way it's set up and think it could be really useful.
I'm a 17 year old girl who loves to travel! I've been on two previous school exchanges one to Spain for 3 months and One to France for one month. Now I have the opportunity to go to Chengdu,China (in Sichuan provence) with a Chineese friend for 3 weeks this July but have no idea how to prepare. I would appreciate info. and tips on:
1. Documentation required and when to apply
2. tips for women travelling alone
3. customs and proper dress
4. recommendations on places to see

I read the guide books and really enjoy them. I have confidence that someone can help me become a smart travellor since I plan on travelling in the future.
I just want to know how to travel safely and smart but also have the time of my life!
Thanks.

Old Dec 30th, 2004, 10:34 PM

Hi there. I have a suggestion for you. If you also post this on the Australian Board I bet Neil_Oz will give you some good advice. He has 2 daughters in China and they have visited there also.

Have a wonderful time, and good for you to start venturing out into the world.
Have a wonderful trip.
Old Dec 31st, 2004, 12:50 AM

LoveItaly, thanks for the recommendation.

ambitious_teen, my daughters are in China under very different circumstances and in a different part of the country, so I'm not sure that their experience will be much help to you. My advice in relation to your four questions:

1. See a travel agent. You will have to buy tickets anyway. Also check the Chinese Embassy website for your country.

2. Buy a guide book. For your purposes "Lonely Planet" may be best.