Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Foreigh exchange students from Japan (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/foreigh-exchange-students-from-japan-395631/)

Randy Feb 5th, 2004 08:49 AM

Foreigh exchange students from Japan

In August I will be hosting two male university students for three weeks while they will attending a local college. I have traveled to europe, but have no experience with Japan. I would welcome any suggestions that would help make there time here in Traverse City, Michigan a great experience.

kismet Feb 6th, 2004 06:41 AM

Randy:

What a great guy you are for hosting the students and for planning ahead.

I was an exchange student way back in 1977 (for one year to Belgium.) Looking back on it what I most enjoyed at the time and what is meaningful to me now are different. Don't worry too much that they are entertained. Different experiences are what will endure.

They will not know what they want to see or do. Show them around the local sights (and I bet they would love going to a big Fryes or Costco to wander.) They will want to bring back gifts for everyone and souvenir shopping will probably be important to them. Teaching them how to BBQ or make chocolate chip cookies might be fun. (Cooking is still probably very much a woman's domain in Japan.) Asking friends or neighbors to invite them over to see different households and meet different types of people are interesting. Taking them to work to have lunch to see what the workplace is like in American will be a change for them. Going to cultural events and museums will have staying power.
Camping and picnicing are very American. Playing golf is a real luxury. Rock climbing probably isn't very common.(Do you have an REI? I bet that would be interesting.) Three weeks will go fast.