Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Flight to Phuket to Make Ferry to Phi Phi (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/flight-to-phuket-to-make-ferry-to-phi-phi-638204/)

rsidhu Aug 10th, 2006 10:45 AM

Flight to Phuket to Make Ferry to Phi Phi

Okay now I'm in full planning mode for my trip to Thailand this November. I booked our flight from JFK to BKK in May and am finally getting around to booking the inter Thailand flights and the hotels. Oh the options.....

Just to let you know, I'm a project manager and I run everything like it's a project. My poor husband wants to kill me!!!! Only warning you that I'll have a ton of questions so will need your patience (thanks for all the advice thus far).

Okay first question - if my flight on Thai Air arrives in Phuket at 1:10pm, will I make the last ferry at 2:30pm from Phuket to Phi Phi?

TexasSlim Aug 10th, 2006 04:32 PM

A bit tight I think, with lots of luck you could make it but if the plane is a bit late for any reason...plus you have to clear immigration/customs, then find a taxi. If it was me I'd give it a shot but be prepared for missing the last ferry and staying one night on Phuket. An alternative is to charter, if you have the spare dosh.

JamesA Aug 11th, 2006 01:31 AM

Honestly I very much doubt it can be done !

Ok let's get this right, are you arriving in Phuket on a transfer from an international arrival or are you simply flying domestic from BKK to Phuket, if you are just flying BKK to Phuket then simply get an earlier flight. Remember arrival is 'landing' and although the flights if on Thai are reliable, you have to collect your baggage, go to the taxi counter, get the taxi and hope traffic is not busy, but that makes it real tight and aprt from everything else you could loose what you have paid for accommodation for that night.