BKK City Tours - DIY or Guided?

Aug 15th, 2006, 12:13 AM
Original Poster

BKK City Tours - DIY or Guided?

Hey,

I'll be in BKK and Chiang Mai for my honeymoon in a few months and am currently looking at the tours. Is it worth doing a city and temples tour type thing or is it just as easy to do a self guided tour?

I wasn't sure how much you actually got a a guided tour. Lots of information and extra things? Are we generally talking a personal tour or in a tour bus of 30?

Is getting lost a primary concern, ie just easier to let someone who knows the place to drive you around rather than trying to get from place to place?

Any thoughts or info ppl might have would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Aug 15th, 2006, 01:34 AM

I am not a Bangkok expert, I was there only once and plan to go there again next February but I can tell you what I thought of Bangkok.

I had a hard time to go from one place to another to visit the main sites as Bangkok is very scattered and toooo hot! I remember walking a lot under a terrible heat to get to the Grand Palace.

Next time I will book with Tong or another guide raved here in Fodors for a tour of the places where I wasn't the first time.

I wasn't in Chiang Mai yet but I am also going next time. From my research and what I read here in Fodors I don't think you need a tour to see the temples in Chiang Mai city but you could need one if you want to get out to the forrest and see the tribes and do some trekking.

That was just my opinion and I will leave the advice for the Fodors Thailand experts. It will also help me with my planning and I am sure you will soon get replies from them.

Congratulations on your upcoming marriage and have a wonderful honeymoon!

Teresa
Aug 15th, 2006, 07:10 AM

The city tours you book ahead are typically a bus load of 30 people or so and they always include a shopping stop. It's my idea of deadly.