Best time of Year to go to Japan

Oct 9th, 2018, 09:52 AM
Original Poster

Best time of Year to go to Japan

Hi all,

I am a recent grad and would love to travel to Seoul and a few of the big cities in Japan in 2018 or 2019. On the Seoul page, it shows the best times of year to travel for tourists and for the price tag.
So I am wondering, what time of year are flights and hotels/hostels cheapest to Japan?

I appreciate anyone's input

Thanks,
RJ
Oct 9th, 2018, 06:05 PM
kja

For this question, and almost any other about traveling in Japan, think of japan-guide.com as your go-to source for information. It isn't perfect, but it's better than just about anything else, IME!
Here's the climate when-to-go page:
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2273.html
It also has an event calendar and other useful information, but I'm not sure you'll find information on seasonal differences in the costs of travel. I could be wrong!

FWIW, if you are definitely going to Seoul, you might consider limiting your trip to South Korea. There's a lot to see there! I find many advantages to limiting a trip to a single country, because then I can really see the differences between places in that same country (rather than comparing apples and oranges, which is how I find cross-nation comparisons). Too, I always like to learn at least a bit of the language, mostly just a few civilities, but am so poor with languages that I can't manage multiple ones for the same trip. YMMV, and of course, English will be sufficient for Seoul or any of Japan's major cities. And I should note that others prefer the contrasts they find in visiting different countries on the same trip -- no right or wrong answer.

I loved my time in Japan, but didn't write a trip report. I did write about my month in South Korea; maybe you'll find some useful information in that report:
4 wonderful solo weeks in South Korea
Oct 13th, 2018, 12:31 PM