Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Beijing Can Someone recommend a good resaturant for Beijing Duck?

Sep 6th, 2004, 02:24 PM
Original Poster

Thanks in advance.
Sep 6th, 2004, 07:52 PM

Going-I don't eat duck, so I did not have any while in Beijing, however there are two recommendations by China experts on this board for Peking duck-and I have pasted their responses below:

1.Liqun Roast Duck Restaurant which is located in a Beijing hutong. They have an English menu, which makes it no less authentic, just easier to order. The phone number: 8610-6705-5578.

2.For roast duck, as recommended before more than once on these pages, the Beijing Dadong Kaoya Dian on the east side of the east third ring road, just north of Tuanjie Hu Park
Sep 6th, 2004, 08:48 PM

I'm not an expert on Beijing but just wanted to add that "Peking duck" and "Roast duck" are two different dishes. Most place that serve roast duck might not even have Peking duck because it's more of a gourmet dish.
Sep 6th, 2004, 09:29 PM

That could be, Hanuman, however, the guidebooks use the term interchangably when they list restaurants that serve Beijing duck. Both of these restaurants were recommended by a Beijing ex-pat and Peter N-H.
Sep 7th, 2004, 05:18 AM

Hi

My wife and I went to Beijing in March last year and we had to try out the Peking duck of course We went to a place called King Roast Duck Restaurant in the Wangfujing area...hm, so maybe we had roast duck and not Peking duck. Well, it was a good meal anyway and it looked like it was a local hangout spot too. There was a group of Chinese men in suites in the resturants and one of the older guys got so drunk that he had to be supported on his way out. Well, I have posted pictures and a trip report on my personal homepage http://gardkarlsen.com

Mvh
Gard
Stavanger, Norway
Sep 7th, 2004, 03:19 PM