Bangkok Hotel and Travel ideas

Old Nov 13th, 2005, 12:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bangkok Hotel and Travel ideas

I'm a 21 year old female. I'm going to be in Thailand for a few weeks this December and January. This is my first time there and I'm asking for any advice on a great place to stay while I'm in Bangkok from December 31st through January 5th. I've been looking at the Mariott, but am keeping my eyes and ears open for other hotels. I also wanted any travel advice on great places to see and any ideas of things to do for Xmas and Western New Years. I am young and want to have fun, but I tend to enjoy hanging out with apeople a little older than me. Any help would be great and much appreciated... Thanks!
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 05:00 PM

unfortunately your dates are the most expensive times to stay in bkk for the whole year....

you would love the marriott, but its not a singles type place, but you would not feel out of place, its just not really a meeting type place....people are friendly in the pool and you can strike up conversations so it may work out for you that way....the bar is not really a hang out type place either...
i do not want to discourange you from staying there i just want to be realistic....

in the center of town there are tons of more hip places but again there is the $$ angle at that time of year...

davis hotel might suit you or the metropolitan on sathorn rd

look at this web site: www.hauhin.20m.com
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 05:12 PM

I would stay somewhere more in the middle of things than the Marriott. The Metropolitan or Reflections might suit you.
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 07:37 PM

the jw marriott on soi 2, sumhumvit is in the middle of things....it is more money too...i just assumed that you were referring to the marriott resort on the river....

fireworks on new year eve would be nice on the river...

places to visit:

grand palace
jim thompson house
wat arun
klong tour of thornburi by long tail boat
wat pho
marble wat