First time Traveller to South East Asia

Old Aug 17th, 2013, 12:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time Traveller to South East Asia

I have little experience of South East Asia and would really love some form of itinerary from experienced travellers like yourselves. I would like to visit Thailand (more Northern areas), Cambodia and Vietnam, maybe Nepal I have approximately 2 months. Where is the best place to start. I'm looking for cultural experiences, temples and beautiful coastlines as well as Interesting food. Any advice on a start, a middle and an end would be much appreciated.
Old Aug 17th, 2013, 07:13 AM

This year, my husband and I spent several weeks in Thailand (Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Chiang Sean, Koh Phangan) and Cambodia (Siem Reap). We loved both countries. We have lots of details on our travel blog: how we got around, hotels, attractions, etc. Feel free to contact me with specific questions.
http://latitudeb.com/golden-triangle-thailand/
http://latitudeb.com/chiang-mai-thailand/
http://latitudeb.com/bangkok/
http://latitudeb.com/cambodia/
Old Aug 17th, 2013, 07:29 AM

No one can plan your itinerary for you. It really depends on your interests.

For instance, you mention Nepal. Are you interested in trekking, or are you mostly interested in the world heritage sites in the Kathmandu Valley? If the latter, you can cover those sites in a little more than a week, if the former, you may need a month there.

In Cambodia, are you mostly interested in the temples of Angkor, or do you want to cover more of the country? You can visit the temples and the surrounding areas in a week or less, but you could spend a month in Cambodia.

You don't mention Laos, but Laos makes more sense than Nepal with the other countries you mention, especially if you are traveling on a budget.