Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Any restrictions on bringing books into China?

Old Sep 8th, 2007, 11:56 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have family living in China for a year teaching. I have close friends going to China next month as tourists who offered to bring a care package. Would tourist friends have any problems if they were to take some books to send in the local mail there in Beijing? Mostly requests are for innocuous things like children's books, Shakespeare etc. but what about something like biography of Mao? Forgive me if this is a naive question. I have NO knowledge of China.
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 12:30 PM

All I can tell you from my recent trip is that no one at customs looked at my books, or at anything else.
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 01:53 PM

Chances are nobody will look at anything. But why take that risk at all, even if it's extremely minute? That's how I look at things. How much money do you save by having them bring in and send it by local mail, compared to sending it by USPS from the US? $20?

Is it worth the trouble?
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 02:11 PM
Original Poster

I assumed it would take much much longer, cost much more than $20 and perhaps be more of a red flag if sent. Would you say without the bio of Mao it's less of an issue?
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 02:29 PM

Yes, just stick with Shakespeare and children books.
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 03:18 PM

English teachers working in China are advised to stay clear of "three T's and an F": Tibet (independence for), Tiananmen Square (as it relates to the suppression there of the pro-democracy movement), Taiwan and Falun Gong (a dissident religious sect). That should be a reasonable guide, and in addition I wouldn't include the bio of Mao. Having said that, I agree that it's unlikely that Customs will pay any attention to what you're carrying unless it breaches airline security or obvious laws such as illegal drugs.
Old Sep 8th, 2007, 05:10 PM