Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   antique jewelry (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/antique-jewelry-566342/)

flosdiner Oct 23rd, 2005 07:12 AM

antique jewelry

I have been researching antique jewelry in India for about a year now. I know it is a difficult thing to find these days unless you wander into a village. I will be traveling to Rajasthan in the next month or two for my second scouting trip. Any advice, leads, stores, etc. would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

lcuy Oct 23rd, 2005 08:33 PM

The jewelry store at Amarvilas in Agra had quite a bit of antique jewelry when I was there in August. The prices didn't seem outrageous to me, but I'm no expert on Indian jewelry. The salewoman was very helpful and gave me the names of some other shops in Jaipur, but unfortunately, I lost the list.

Cicerone Oct 23rd, 2005 08:47 PM

Gem Palace in Jaipur. They have a lot of estate jewelery. I am in an airport lounge today and do not have their address with me, but have it at home. If you cannot find it on Google, write back and I will look it up when I am back home on Thursday. The shop is worth a visit just to see the upstairs rooms.

celeste60 Oct 23rd, 2005 09:41 PM

The Jewelry I saw at the oberoi hotel in Agra and jaipur belong to Gem Palace. The address for Gem Palace in Jaipur in Mirza Ismael Road (M.I.Road) Jaipur. They are very well known and have been at the same location since the 1840s. Gem Palace also has a store in Mumbai, but I do not think they have have any antique jewelry.

hobbes Oct 24th, 2005 01:01 AM

Surana is a famous Jaipur based jeweler who also has an outlet in Delhi. You could also go to Amrapali in Jaipur for gorgeous silver and gold antique jewelry

vp_singh Oct 25th, 2005 11:25 PM