Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   Amanpulo? Trisara? Opinions Please! (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/amanpulo-trisara-opinions-please-485741/)

PassportControl Nov 12th, 2004 09:33 AM

Amanpulo? Trisara? Opinions Please!
 
Message: Hello, We have reservations for Christmas/New Years at both the Amanpulo resort in the Phillipines and the newly opened Trisara on Phuket (Amanpuri is sold out). We cannot decide which to keep! Is the Amanpulo showing it's age? We heard some comments about less than "Aman" quality food and service there. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.



Ericka Nov 12th, 2004 02:20 PM

Hi PassportControl,

We are visiting Amanpulo this December. I'm curious about your comment that it is "showing its age". As I understand it, Amanpulo is only a few years old compared to Amanpuri which is the first of the Amans and is 15 years old.

Is it possible you are confusing the two properties?

PassportControl Nov 12th, 2004 08:01 PM

Hi Ericka,
No, it is Amanpulo that concerns me. It debuted in 1993 and is thus a few years "younger" than the Amanpuri, but we have heard a few rumors that it has not been nearly as well maintained.

dlh Nov 12th, 2004 10:18 PM

Hi Passort Control,
We have stayed at the Amanpulo but we have not stayed at the Trisara (although we may be popping up in two - three weeks). The Amanpulo was neither showing it's age nor did we have any trouble with food or service when we where there although it was prior to the switch in managers. The previous managers are now at the Amanpuri. We found the Amanpulo to be completely wonderful and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We have stayed at several Aman properties and we actually prefer the Amanpulo to the Amanpuri simply for the superior (IMO) beach and water sports. However, if it is important to you, the Amanpulo does not have a spa.
The Trisara sounds wonderful if you do go be sure to post a report!
Have a great trip!

Ericka Nov 14th, 2004 03:51 AM

Wow, I did not realize the Amanpulo was ten years old. Very interesting. We will keep our fingers crossed. However, yours is the first negative thing we've heard about the property. We haven't heard anything similar from other Aman junkies. What type of room did you book? We opted for a Deluxe Hillside for the view and more privacy.

By the way, please report back on the Trisara if you go that direction. We always love to hear about new places!

PassportControl Nov 16th, 2004 08:08 PM

Hi Ericka, We are doing Hillside as well and have decided for Amanpulo over Phuket and the Trisara. Will be there for 10 nights over Christmas and will report back and let you know! Or perhaps you will be there before we will!!

Ericka Nov 17th, 2004 04:32 AM

We will be there in two weeks! And will report back, ofcourse.

Are you doing Hillside or Deluxe Hillside? We've chosen Deluxe Hillside, which there are only two of. Supposedly, they sit on a cliff with a private beach below. It's also supposed to be the highest point on the island, offering better views and privacy.

dlh Nov 17th, 2004 02:37 PM

Ericka,
We have stayed in the deluxe hillside casitas and they do have totally awesome views! It's a bit of a trek up the stairs to your casita and they don't actually have their own private beach (all of the beaches on the island are exclusively for the Amanpulo) but it is the beach closest to the watersports equipment and the furthest from the beach restaurant etc. so it is usually quite deserted. Also, be sure to ask for a private barbeque on your terrace - it's wonderful!! Have fun!!

Ericka Nov 18th, 2004 04:34 AM

Good to know. Thanks!

Also, we are doing the private barbeque on the beach - should we request our terrace instead? We're planning on enjoying room service from our terrace, regardless.

Lastly, we can't decide whether to venture out to the neighboring islands - my husband doesn't want to see any poverty. But is the scenery nice? A private picnic on a neighboring island sounds divine.

PassportControl Nov 20th, 2004 09:17 AM

Hi Ericka, We are just doing Hillside instead of Deluxe Hillside, but may switch based on your experience. Please e-mail me upon your return if possible...we would greatly appreciate your opinion after the stay! [email protected]

Ericka Nov 20th, 2004 03:41 PM

Yes, I'll let you know about the deluxe hillside and everything else. :-)

PassportControl Dec 13th, 2004 02:29 PM

Hi Ericka! Have you returned from Amanpulo? Can't wait to get your feedback...we leave in a few days for our stay there. Thanks. [email protected]

Ericka Dec 14th, 2004 09:36 AM

Hello Passport Control!

We just got back this AM - I'm terribly jetlagged from the 30+ hour flight, but I will try to write up our formal trip report in the next few days.

As for the Deluxe Hillside...we were in #40 and it was gorgeous. 260 degree views over the southern tip of the island and off to both sides. It is the only unit that offers this phenomonal view. #39 is also a deluxe hillside, but it only offers a view from one side of the island.

Note: the winds can pick up a lot in December and #40 is a windy unit because of its position and how high up it sits. That is the only drawback with #40 in that you probably wouldn't want to eat on your terrace if it was very windy.

Overall, we had a remarkable time. I'll try to get that trip report up as quickly as I can. But for now, I have to go to bed and recover.

P.S. This resort is not showing it's age! :-) And the new GMs (Shane and Karen) are young and fun. Their plans for Xmas sound delightful.

Ericka


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:14 PM.