Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Help . . . Anyone - Laundromats in India?

Old May 1st, 2014, 08:21 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello Community,

I am trying to identify laundromats in a number of cities in India. Can anyone help?

I am a Relocation Manager for a large multinational company based in the U.S. We have some executives and their families (spouses, partners, kids, etc.) moving to quite a few cities around the world later on this year. It is part of my job to help the families sort out some details.

Self-service laundromats are the first thing on my "to-do" list. I need to identify:

1) Self-service or coin-operated laundromats only (where they can wash/dry their clothes themselves).
2) Larger machines (and the more the better).
3) 24 hour laundromats (this is preferable but not required - longer hours of operation are better).

Here are my cities:

Mumbai / Calcutta / Delhi / Chennai / Bangalore / Hyderabad / Pune / Ahmadabad / Surat / Kanpur

If anyone in the community has any reliable knowledge about any laundromats in any of those cities, please let me know. It would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Samantha
Old May 1st, 2014, 08:40 AM

Received 26 Likes on 4 Posts
After several long visits in India, I've never encountered laundromats. The tradition in the country is to have dhobi wallahs, laundrymen, do laundry. It's inexpensive and people who don't do their own laundry send it out to have the dhobis do it. So I think your search for laundromats will be fruitless, a western thing, not Indian.
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:36 PM

When I traveled in India, a maid did my laundry daily at the place we stayed at. You can find a neighborhood business that accepts laundry by the pound. Very cheap.
Old May 1st, 2014, 04:30 PM