Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

4 weeks in Japan - Can you please review my itinerary?

Old Aug 21st, 2019, 08:00 PM
Original Poster

Hey, what do you think of the itinerary below? I’ll be in Japan for two months in March and April 2020. This is my first time in Japan. I’ll travel through the country for almost one month. Then I will spend a full month in Tokyo for work, but I'll have time for day trips during the weekends.

I enjoy slow traveling because I don’t want to bring all my luggage or worry about check-ins every time I move.

Do I need to activate the 21 JR travel pass on Day 5? Or is there a cheaper alternative if I adjust the itinerary?
I wanted to visit Kamikochi too but understand it is closed in March unfortunately. Is that correct? Can't find a lot of information about it.

Day 1: Tokyo - Arrival
Day 2: Tokyo
Day 3: Tokyo
Day 4: Tokyo - Day trip Hakone

Day 5: Kanazawa
Day 6: Kanazawa
Day 7: Kanazawa
Day 8: Takayama - Stop by Shirakawago/Gokayama on the way to Takayama
Day 9: Takayama

Day 10: Kyoto
Day 11: Kyoto
Day 12: Kyoto
Day 13: Kyoto - Day trip Nara
Day 14: Kyoto
Day 15: Kyoto

Day 16: Osaka
Day 17: Osaka - Day trip Himeji castle
Day 18: Osaka - (Maybe Koyasan)

Day 19: Hiroshima
Day 20: Hiroshima - Day trip Miyajima

Day 21 - 25: Okinawa - Going to Ishigaki, Taketomi or Iriomote

Then another full month in Tokyo - Day trips or multiple days in Nikko, Kamakura, Fuji Five Lakes

I considered squeezing in Matsumoto, Fukuoka, Nagoya, Kobe, Sapporo but didn't feel like visiting for different reasons. I know it's personal preference but is there a place you would recommend adding?

Your help is much appreciated!

Last edited by PeterBaker; Aug 21st, 2019 at 08:31 PM.
Old Aug 21st, 2019, 09:13 PM
kja

Don't worry about luggage: Japan has an excellent luggage forwarding option. It's called takuhaibin, and here's the relevant info:
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2274.html#delivery