Asia Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Miyajima Island
  2. 2 Trip Report Laurel and Hardy in Drag Do Bangkok
  3. 3 Trip Report Vietnam, Cambodia & Hong Kong - Fall 2017 Trip Report
  4. 4 What to do with a Layover in Taipei?
  5. 5 Trip Report Nywoman an older single traveler explores Taiwan
  6. 6 Trip to India Feb 1-18
  7. 7 Family trip to Thailand for Christmas and possibly New year
  8. 8 Vientiane to LP December
  9. 9 Solo or group tour for first trip to India?
  10. 10 Trip Report RHK's Fall SEA Trip
  11. 11 Safest beach area for solo female in Sri Lanka
  12. 12 VN + Japan 6 wks March/April - which order?
  13. 13 Wat Arun
  14. 14 Vietnam April 5 - 16
  15. 15 Hotel in Vientiane 18-24 December
  16. 16 best way to spend two days in Chiang Mai
  17. 17 How to travel from Narita airport to Kawaguchiko
  18. 18 Prelim itinerary Java, Bali
  19. 19 5 days in Singapore
  20. 20 ONLY 3 DAYS in BEIJING -BEST THINGS TO DO?
  21. 21 Shanghai in January
  22. 22 24hrs in Seoul on Christmas..what to do
  23. 23 Myanmar tour companies
  24. 24 Luang Prabang for Christmas which Hotel?
  25. 25 Recommended drivers in Sri Lanka
View next 25 » Back to the top

22 Day Japan itinerary and rail pass suggestions

Jump to last reply

Hi All,

I have been doing some research about our potential itinerary and would really appreciate some feedback.

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from 19 May to 9 June (22 days) and would like to get an all-round experience of Japan. We are both pretty active and enjoy a variety of things, culture, shopping, food, night life, museums, exercise/ walks, spas etc... We have chosen to spend quite a bit of time in Tokyo as my boyfriend really wants to get the vibe of the city and for the other time Kyoto and day trips/ overnight stays in other places that I have read and people rave about. We also trying to time our travel to stay in the bigger cities on the weekend. Regards our first go at the itinerary I have a couple of questions:

1. Would you recommend we drop/ replace any of the places on the list

2. Are the days/ nights enough in the places chosen

3. Is going to Nikko realistic

4. When and how long for would you recommend we buy the JR pass for / when to activate

5. Any other suggestions are more than welcome!

Our proposed itinerary:

1 19-May Sunday Tokyo (arrive early morning)

2 20-May Monday Day Trip: Asakusa

3 21-May Tuesday Day Trip: Kamakura (would be interesting to see a coastal/ fishing village)

4 22-May Wednesday Tokyo

5 23-May Thursday Tokyo

6 24-May Friday Tokyo to Hakone (for the hot springs, stay in a ryokan and some nature)

7 25-May Saturday Hakone to Kyoto

8 26-May Sunday Kyoto

9 27-May Monday Kyoto

10 28-May Tuesday Kyoto

11 29-May Wednesday Kyoto

12 30-May Thursday Kyoto to Nara

13 31-May Friday Nara to Osaka

14 1-Jun Saturday Osaka

15 2-Jun Sunday Day Trip: Himeji Castle

16 3-Jun Monday Osaka (maybe do a shopping trip to the designer outlet, although don't know how affordable it will be!)

17 4-Jun Tuesday Osaka to Takayama (for the crafts markets)

18 5-Jun Wednesday Takayama to Nikko (for the nature, waterfalls)

19 6-Jun Thursday Nikko to Tokyo

20 7-Jun Friday Tokyo

21 8-Jun Saturday Tokyo

22 9-Jun Sunday Tokyo

Thank you so much in advance

10 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement