Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Asia (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/)
-   -   1st time Japan - solo female (https://www.fodors.com/community/asia/1st-time-japan-solo-female-1007939/)

sylvie77 Mar 9th, 2014 07:11 AM

1st time Japan - solo female

Hi, I'm totally new to Fodor, so please be kind!

I've just booked flights to Japan and am trying to get my head round coming up with an itinery, which is proving harder than with any other trips I've done for some reason. Maybe it's because I'm usually travelling in a car/rental car and will be using public transport this time.

I'll be travelling from July, 10th - August, 7th. Not the best time of year to go to Japan, I know, but the only time I can go, so I'll just have to deal with the heat and humidity.

I'll be starting and finishing in Fukuoka as I'm visiting friends who live there. I am planning to travel solo for two weeks in the middle of my stay, roughly from the 17th-30th, but I can add a night or two if needs be. I was thinking 14 days because of the JR pass availability.

I have read guides and looked on many forums and people seem to be spending a lot of time in Kyoto and Tokyo, but I'd like to fit something a bit more rural into the trip as well.....but maybe mainly as day trips from the cities?! Open to better ideas.

This is what I am thinking so far: