Search

What month for best air travel to Europe

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31st, 2010, 08:05 AM
cd
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What month for best air travel to Europe

I am just beginning to think about planning our own trip to Europe instead of doing a tour. We are retired so can go anytime. What is the best month for prices (air and hotel) to Praque, Budapest and Berlin? We would get an open jaw. I want to consider weather also.
Thanks for any help.
Old Mar 31st, 2010, 08:15 AM
J62

In my experience Jan/Feb are the best months for low prices, both for hotel & air fare.

I've enjoyed my trips to Prague & Berlin in January just as much as when I've been there in spring/summer. It can be cold, yes, but if you dress properly it's nice to visit when there are no crowds.
Old Mar 31st, 2010, 08:22 AM

I would consider "shoulder season" I like May and September. No they aren't as cheap as Jan/Feb but the days are longer, the weather is generally nicer and crowds are manageable. Prices are cheaper then in the summer.
Old Mar 31st, 2010, 08:34 AM
cd
Original Poster

Thank you both. I was thinking Sept (big wimp when it comes to Jan/Feb)might be cheaper than the summer. We would plan to train travel between the cities. Could you tell me which trains to consider point to point? I would also like to have hotels/inns close to the station. If there are area's you could recommend, I will search them and appreciate it so much!
Old Mar 31st, 2010, 08:39 AM
J62

You can check www.bahn.de for train schedules. There are likely trains between these cities every 1-2 hrs all day long, so you can just pick the schedule that works best for you. Dresden is 1/2 way between Prague and Berlin and well worth a stop. A day or 2 is great, but even 1/2 day is good if that's all you can spare to see the main sights.