So I missed the British Airways card deal...

Jan 27th, 2010, 02:48 PM
Original Poster

So I missed the British Airways card deal...

which I am extremely bummed about. I'm a newbie to this, and wanted to ask you all about potential pitfalls.

We are flying to France in July, hopefully to a regional airport like BOD or TLS. I'm looking at the high ticket prices and thinking about getting the card anyway.

We have excellent credit. If I get a card and my husband gets a card, we could still get 50,000 points each and get economy seats (not including tax). We'd have to buy our daughter's seat, but they offer a slightly less expensive ticket for a child.

Instead of costing us $3800 it could be $1800. Plus the annual fee for two cards. That's still a savings of over $1800 total.

Is this reasonable? If I have the points by April, will the mileage seats be sold out?

I'm also wondering if we might have problems buying our seats with points and our daughter's with cash.
Jan 27th, 2010, 05:44 PM
J62

I'm toying with the best way to use my newfound BA miles. One option I'm chewing on is using them on an AA flight US to Europe. AA seems to charge far less tax & fees on FF tickets to Europe (~$80 vs $250 on BA). Plus AA flies non-stop US to France. (Paris). You could also look into Iberia (OneWorld Alliance) to BOD or TLS.

I believe you can still get the free companion ticket coupon on BA if you spend $30k in a year even though the 100k bonus offer is gone. If your spending rate gets you the $30k by April then that's another option using just one card. I don't know when they actually issue the 2fer though. The 2fer is only good on BA metal.

My 50k x 2 bonus miles have shown up within one week on BA.
Jan 28th, 2010, 06:47 AM

One option I'm chewing on is using them on an AA flight US to Europe.