Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Redeeming Elite Rewards Miles (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/redeeming-elite-rewards-miles-549993/)

LUAnnski Aug 7th, 2005 05:34 PM

Redeeming Elite Rewards Miles

I have a visa which accumulates miles for purchases on the card.
Does anyone have any experience redeeming miles for air travel with this program? We are thinking of traveling to Italy next April. Trying to gauge if they stand behind their claims.
Thanks for any help.
Louise

rkkwan Aug 7th, 2005 06:39 PM

It'd help if you tell us the name of the card and its program...

BeachBoi Aug 8th, 2005 05:49 AM

I have a CitiBank Mastercard that gives me 1 frequent flyer for every dollar I charge to the card.On mmy credit card statement every months, it lists the number of miles to be posted to my frequent flyer account.On the frequent flyer account, it shows the numbers of miles posted from the Credit Card Company.It works.You will redeem your miles thru the airline, not the credit card company.So you follow the rules for the redemption process the same as you would if you had earned the miles thru actually flying them.I hope this helps....Stephen

P_M Aug 8th, 2005 09:26 AM

LUAnnski, are you using a card such as Capitol One where you can redeem with any airline, or are you a member of a frequent flyer program? We want to help you, but we can't with only the info you have provided. Please tell us more.

LUAnnski Aug 9th, 2005 11:13 AM

Sorry I took so long to return to this posting.