Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Questions about traveling internationally and layovers (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/questions-about-traveling-internationally-and-layovers-1021808/)

jacqves21 Aug 2nd, 2014 07:56 AM

Questions about traveling internationally and layovers

I don't know if this is the right place to post this or not, but I'll give it a try.

I'll be flying from minneapolis/st. Paul to Jerez de la frontera in Spain. I have layovers in Dallas and madrid. Here are my questions I need answered. (Btw I'm 15 years old but I will not be traveling as an unaccompanied minor. This is my first time flying solo)

When I'm getting my luggage checked in at MSP do I need to show my passport? Will my boarding pass/itinerary show that I'll be traveling internationally after my stop in Dallas? Same when I'm at security and boarding the plane, do I need to show my passport at MSP?

When I land in Dallas what do I do? I'll be taking the same airline for the first two flights, so I won't need to recheck my bags right? Do I just stay in the terminal and find my gate for the next flight? Do I need to go through security all over again? Where do I show my passport?

When I land in Madrid will they just let me off the plane and will I be able to stay in the terminal and find my next gate? I don't have to go through customs, right? And also since I'll be taking Iberia for my flight to Jerez de la frontera do I need to recheck my baggage or will hey transfer it for me?

When I land in Jerez de la frontera what do I do at customs?

Sorry for a the questions but this is my first time traveling solo, and my second time flying internationally.

Jeff_Costa_Rica Aug 2nd, 2014 09:32 AM

When I'm getting my luggage checked in at MSP do I need to show my passport? YES