Personal carry on bag

Search

Personal carry on bag

Search this Thread

Old Mar 21st, 2018, 01:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Personal carry on bag

When we fly we usually check our bags but I like to have some things with us on the plane, like the Kindle, iPad and the camera, as well as earbuds, my Dramamine, a few toiletries etc.. We pack an extra, empty duffel bag to bring home with us for the overflow stuff.

I have been using an over the shoulder bag for a few years now. I got a good price on it because I think it was meant to be a diaper bag but was missing the changing pad. Last year I got a wheeled Delsey under-the-seat bag that #1 didn’t really fit all the stuff and #2 didn’t fit under the seat. (I should have returned it.) I think I would like to stick with a shoulder bag. I may just end up using the old one again, but....

My question is, what kind of bag do you use for this purpose? I looked at this one today in Macy’s.
https://m.macys.com/shop/product/sam...tegoryID=20688
Old Mar 21st, 2018, 01:57 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
My trips are most often to a beach vacation. I just use a tote bag or gym bag that becomes my beach bag after arrival. Nothing special.

12x16x8 would be way too small for me - and I think too small for what you describe? Are you sure your iPad, kindle, camera, etc. will fit into that size?
Old Mar 21st, 2018, 02:03 PM

I use a Baggallini tote bag that easily holds all the stuff I want to keep close. The Samsonite bag you referenced at Macy's would be way too big and too heavy for me.
Old Mar 21st, 2018, 02:22 PM

Yes, the bag you showed would be heavy and big for me also. My old Victorinox crossbody messenger looks a bit like this but is made from a nylon material and is more vertical than horizontal in silhouette.

Waxed Canvas Messenger | Lucky Brand

But now I think I want this Lucky bag!

Another search turned up this which is more like mine, but mine is nylon.