Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Mileage cards. Worth it? (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/mileage-cards-worth-it-1660716/)

meadowstobay Nov 25th, 2018 08:36 AM

Mileage cards. Worth it?

Really dumb question here but, I’m relatively new to the travel world. I’m planning a trip to Hawaii this year for me and my mother and a trip to New Zealand(instead of Australia) in 2020 for just me. Would it be worth it to get a United MileagePlus card for the 40,000 points to use on the New Zealand trip or should I just plan to buy the ticket outright? I would be flying from Charlotte, NC so tickets can be kinda pricey.

J62 Nov 25th, 2018 10:21 AM

Since accumulating miles on a mileage card is basically free (ex the annual fee of $75 to $100, using one makes a lot of sense to me. If you carry a balance and have to pay interest then the cost goes up as with any CC.

The problem using miles though is ticket availability. Before you get your heart set on using miles to get to HI or NZ, check out the availability of seats on United's website. - they would not show up now for a 2020 flight but you could check some random 2019 dates to get a feel. I have no problem using my UA miles to travel East to West across the US connecting through Chicago, Newark, or DC, even on short notice. For a longer route with more limited flight options you may find it hard to get seats.

Also keep an eye out for special deals. From time to time airlines will offer bonus miles for signing up on a new cc and I've even heard UA recently hawking the cards on board a flight. You may be able to bank more miles that way very easily.

AJPeabody Nov 25th, 2018 12:35 PM