Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Lufthansa connection in Munich? (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/lufthansa-connection-in-munich-673728/)

LCWombat Jan 25th, 2007 12:56 PM

Lufthansa connection in Munich?

This is my first time flying Lufthansa and I have a couple questions:
1. Do they allow smoking on the flights? (Asthma is an issue)
2. Is a 35 min connection in the same terminal in Munich realistic? I'm worried that we might miss the connection.
3. How comfortable are the economy seats?

alanRow Jan 25th, 2007 03:00 PM

1) of course not
2) I know the airport is pretty small but 35 minutes does seem to be pushing it - I'm assuming that you are booked "A" to "B" via Munich rather than "A" to Munich and Munich to "B".
3) How long are you flying for - economy seats are of a muchness the world over these days.

J62 Jan 25th, 2007 05:23 PM

Last time in Munich (1 week ago) my 55 min layover turned into -15min when the flight from JFK was delayed. Thankfully LH agent greeted me a the arrival gate and secreted me through some back alleys.

Many departing flights are parked on the tarmac, so at the departure gate you actually board a bus to take you there.

Since the departing flight was delayed, actual layover was 40min. I made the flight but luggage did not.

35min is, IMO, not enough time. You will need to go through passport control, pass through security, and possibly walk a long distance.

Can't tell you about coach seats, but new bus class seats sure are nice.

dfr4848 Jan 26th, 2007 05:36 AM

There is no smoking allowed on any airline flying to or from US.