From SFO to China - United upgrade

Jan 2nd, 2012, 05:37 AM
Original Poster

From SFO to China - United upgrade

I'm new to the world of upgrades and find the website confusing. I want to fly from San Francisco to Beijing and return from Shanghai in May. Would like to use a combination of money and miles to fly business if at all possible - even if we can only fly business on the way over.

I can't figure out how to search for the best option. Should i start with the redeem miles tab? Or the book a flight tab? Isn't there any way that it will simply show me what the options are? It seems like you have to try multiple ways - and many of them don't work at all. Maybe it would be best to simply call United... will a person be able to give me the best possibilities?

Thanks.
Jan 2nd, 2012, 08:54 AM

You can use the pdf chart at the link below to determine the miles and copay required. China is in the North Asia region.

http://www.united.com/ual/asset/MUA_...after_6_15.pdf
Jan 2nd, 2012, 09:01 AM

So it is 30,000 miles plus $450 to $600 copay, depending on fare class.
Jan 2nd, 2012, 09:07 AM

I'm not by any stetch a pro on the best way to look at using your miles, but if possible I would highly recommend flying ANA (a Star Alliance partner). We flew business with them to China and the service was way above United. Just a thought.
Jan 2nd, 2012, 09:30 AM

Good thought. It is an option. The catch is that upgrading on ANA (or other *A partners) would require buying full-fare tickets in business C/D or economy Y/B.

This thread got me to try out something I just learned about. That is the ability to search by fare code/type/class at Continental dot com in order to compare the prices.

When you do a Search By: Price the results will show the lowest economy fares. To find the higer fares, click on Advanced Search.