Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Air Travel
Reload this Page >

Flying Tokyo-YYZ in economy- direct or break it up in YVR?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 9th, 2016, 04:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm in the early stages of planning a "mini" RTW on miles (aeroplan). I'm still undecided about whether to use up all the miles and fly business, or save some miles for another trip and fly economy.

If I fly economy, I'm wondering about the long transpac flight from Asia back home to Toronto. I've never done such a long flight before. Usually I'm itching to get off the aircraft after 8 hours or so. So my question is, what would you more experienced flyers do, if you were flying economy?

1. Fly direct HND-YYZ, 12 hours

2. Break up the flight in Vancouver, which would mean approx. 9 hours HND/NRT-YVR, then maybe an overnight, then 4.5 hour flight to YYZ
Old Oct 9th, 2016, 06:44 AM

I’ve travelled YYZ to PER (Perth) in economy many times, which is at best a 25 hour journey, often more than 30, with the longest leg being about 16 hours. I’ve sometimes broken up the flight in Hong Kong on the outbound journey but only because we have a son there. If there is an overnight flight followed by a long layover we might book a hotel day room or airport lounge, or if we arrive in Perth in the evening we stay at an airport hotel before travelling the remaining 3-4 hours to our destination.

On the homeward flight we travel straight through. I’m usually itching to get home by that time, and a stopover adds extra cost but doesn’t really give you a chance to enjoy the destination. It is beyond tedious and uncomfortable and exhausting and there is likely to be a moment in the journey when I swear I will never do it again. But then I do.

I’ve never been in the enviable position of having enough points to fly business, but if I were in your position, that’s probably what I’d do even if I could only manage it one way.