Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Flight change in Dusseldorf - Only 50 minutes! (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/flight-change-in-dusseldorf-only-50-minutes-971114/)

kenav Mar 19th, 2013 01:34 PM

Flight change in Dusseldorf - Only 50 minutes!

We have a flight from Nice to JFK with a change in Dusseldorf. All flights are via Air Berlin. Unfortunately the connecting time is only 50 minutes. Will that be OK?

Also, do we have to go through customs in Dusseldorf and get our luggage and then check in again, or just go through customs and run to our connecting flight without needing to get the luggage? (Air Berlin would just put it through to the next flight?)

suze Mar 19th, 2013 03:45 PM

I'm no expert, but you can't ever go thru "customs" without your luggage. That's kinda the whole idea ;-)

Patty Mar 19th, 2013 04:05 PM

Luggage will be through checked but you'll need to go through passport control to exit Schengen. It's been ages since I've gone through DUS but it's not a huge airport.

kenav Mar 19th, 2013 04:47 PM

Yes, I thought that we wouldn't have to get our luggage. I remember a few years ago going from Krakow, Poland to JFK and needing to change planes in Vienna. The luggage was sent through directly and we didn't have to first pick it up and carry it through customs in Vienna.

Still wondering about the time for the transfer, though.

Smeagol Mar 20th, 2013 12:58 PM

Did you book on one ticket? I would think if it is it " should" be ok but if it were me ( and I know it isn't) I would call Air Berlin.

kenav Mar 20th, 2013 02:06 PM

Hi Smeagol -